more from
Diffrent Music

Interference LP [DIFFLP002]

by Fearful

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £6.99 GBP  or more

    You own this


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    We present to you a carefully curated selection of tracks on the physical format we all know and love. Four hand picked album tracks to sum up the album in one DJ friendly collectors 12" record.

    A1. Interference
    A2. Recall [feat. Lakeway]
    B1. Evangelist [feat. Arkaik & Codebreaker]
    B2. Rocinante

    Heavyweight 180gsm Vinyl.
    Loud / DJ friendly 45rpm cut.
    Silver & Black marbled complexion.
    Hidden engravings.
    Shrink-wrapped for freshness.
    Includes full album download.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Interference LP [DIFFLP002] via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    edition of 300  7 remaining
    Purchasable with gift card

      £8 GBP or more 

    You own this  


Rocinante 02:28
The Traveler 06:08
Interference 06:06
Cliques 05:09
Harkonnen 04:57


As so many great schemes do, it started with a conversation in a pub. After several sporadic releases on Diffrent Music, including his renowned 2013 debut ‘Tongues’, label boss Dexta wanted more music from Fearful. One thing led to another, and suddenly an album was in the works.

The result is ‘Interference’; a body of work that is reflective not only of the personal idiosyncrasies and aspirations of its London-based producer, but of an artist who has truly been set free of expectations.

Harnessing his own inbuilt need to defy convention, and looking to influences such as classical game soundtracks, experimental mastermind Amon Tobin, and the brooding tones of Akkord and Lorn, Fearful has crafted an album that’s unpredictable yet cohesive, and definitive of his aim as an artist.

From the menacing ambient opener ‘Rocinante’, through the glitchy techno of ‘The Traveler’, skewed drum & bass of ‘Pulse 0’ and ‘Through The Mist’, to the roaring drone and pounding metal-inspired drumwork of closer ‘Gold To Dust’, it’s an album that demands full attention and repeat listening.

Nowhere is this free-roaming but pull-no-punches attitude summed up better than the title track. Building through eerie, twisted atmospherics — samples of electromagnetic interference, which can be found throughout the album — it clatters into a domineering breakbeat, before collapsing into a guttural, tribalist techno roller.

Where much of dance music draws on repetition, the concept of ‘Interference’ is simple: progression. Whether that be changing motifs within tracks, switching genres within the album, or developing upon Fearful’s own artistic strengths, it’s an idea never more at home than on Diffrent Music, and we are very proud to present it.


released November 23, 2018

Written by: Chris Murray (All Tracks), LSN (Track 2), Alun Jones (Track 3), Peter Goebel (Tracks 3), Chris Royle (Track 7), Dimitri Mathieu (Track 7), Max Mathieu (Track 7), Chester Long (Track 9), Liam Ralph (Track 11), Matthew Gerrard (Track 12).

Mastered by: Bob Macc @ Subvert Central
Artwork: Chris Edwards & Nathan Rush
Design: Banana Gun


all rights reserved



Fearful London, UK

Fearful’s sound encompasses multiple genres in the bass music spectrum.
His work includes drum & bass, dubstep, techno and more.

His new album ‘Beyond The Veil’ with longtime colaborators MTWN is OUT NOW!

contact / help

Contact Fearful

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account